Archive for the ‘Lasp’ Category


Saturday, August 1st, 2015

Lasp: A Language for Distributed, Eventually Consistent Computations by Christopher S. Meiklejohn and Peter Van Roy.

From the webpage:

Why Lasp?

Lasp is a new programming model designed to simplify large scale, fault-tolerant, distributed programming. Lasp is being developed as part of the SyncFree European research project. It leverages ideas from distributed dataflow extended with convergent replicated data types, or CRDTs. This supports computations where not all participants are online together at a given moment. The initial design supports synchronization-free programming by combining CRDTs together with primitives for composing them inspired by functional programming. This lets us write long-lived fault-tolerant distributed applications, including ones with nonmonotonic behavior, in a functional paradigm. The initial prototype is implemented as an Erlang library built on top of the Riak Core distributed systems infrastructure.


Other resources include:

Lasp-dev, the mailing list for Lasp developers.

Lasp at Github.

I was reminded to post about Lasp by this post from Christopher Meiklejohn:

This post is a continuation of my first post about leaving Basho Technologies after almost 4 years.

It has been quite a long time in the making, but I’m finally happy to announce that I am the recipient of a Erasmus Mundus fellowship in their Joint Doctorate in Distribute Computing program. I will be pursuing a full-time Ph.D., with my thesis devoted to developing the Lasp programming language for distributed computing with the goals of simplifying deterministic, distributed, edge computation.

Starting in February 2016, I will be moving to Belgium to begin my first year of studies at the Université catholique de Louvain supervised by Peter Van Roy followed by a second year in Lisbon at IST supervised by Luís Rodrigues.

If you like this article, please consider supporting my writing on gittip.

Looks like exciting developments are ahead for Lash!

Congratulations to Christopher Meiklejohn!