Archive for the ‘Nonparametric’ Category

Nonparametric Techniques – Webinar [Think Movie Ratings]

Saturday, September 15th, 2012

Overview of Nonparametric Techniques with Elaine Eisenbeisz.

Date: October 3, 2012

Time: 3pm Eastern Time UTC -4 (2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, 12pm Pacific)

From the description:

A distribution of data which is not normal does not mean it is abnormal. There are many data analysis techniques which do not require the assumption of normality.

This webinar will provide information on when it is best to use nonparametric alternatives and provides information on suggested tests to use in lieu of:

  • Independent samples and paired t-tests
  • Analysis of variance techniques
  • Pearson’s Product Moment Correlation
  • Repeated measures designs

A description of nonparametric techniques for use with count data and contingency tables will also be provided.

Movie ratings, a ranked population, are appropriate for nonparametric methods.

You just thought you didn’t know anything about nonparametric methods. 😉

Applicable to all ranked populations (can you say recommendation?).

While you wait for the webinar, try some of the references from Wikipedia: Nonparametric Statistics.